Trent Reznor’s Newest Freebie

I recently read about newest free release from Nine Inch Nails, ‘The Slip’, and took the plunge. I figured for an investment of a little bandwidth, I would download it and take a listen and I have to say, I don’t hate it. I haven’t really paid much attention to NiN since about the second album, yeah I’m showing my age, when Mr. Reznor was still a one man band and playing small venues, including ones in Ybor City.

I didn’t download ‘Ghosts I’ when it was announced initially, but with this package, I may go back and give it a try or even spend the US$5 to download the entire 36 tracks.

I didn’t like everything on ‘The Slip’ but I have to say, I liked more on it than I didn’t. Many of the pieces hearkened back to those early NiN albums that I did like, Discipline for example. Also included are obvious electronic noodling, Corona Radiata, which I liked as well since electronic noodling is my musical preference these days. One song, Lights in the Sky, surprised me with it’s down tempo simplicity. It shows Trent Reznor’s obvious talent using the basics of piano and voice.

I can’t remember which podcast I was listening to that pondered whether this was a real release or not. It could be items cut from other CD releases, or some studio time put in just for this recording either way, ‘The Slip’ is a legitimate independent work. I don’t expect a world tour based on this recording alone, but I wouldn’t be surprised that pieces from this ended up being preformed at future shows.

Leave a Reply

